

COMMISSION'S STATEMENT OF ACCREDITED STATUS

Perkins School of Theology Southern Methodist University 5915 Bishop Boulevard SMU Box 750133 Dallas, TX 75275

Perkins School of Theology Southern Methodist University has been accredited by the Commission on Accrediting (COA) of The Association of Theological Schools since 1938. The school's accreditation was last reaffirmed in summer 2020, based on an institutional self-study report and an onsite evaluation visit by a committee of peer and public reviewers. The school's current period of accreditation expires July 31, 2030.

The school's current status of *Accredited in Good Standing* means the school meets all applicable COA Standards of Accreditation. The school demonstrates educational quality and financial stability and provides evidence that its student learning outcomes are appropriate, rigorous, and being achieved. The school has no public sanctions (i.e., warning, probation, or show cause).

The school is approved to offer the following degree(s): MDiv, MA in Ministry, MSM, MTS, ThM, DMin, Doctor of Pastoral Music

The school is approved to offer distance (online) education at the following level: Comprehensive (Half or More of a Degree)

The school is approved to offer half or more of a degree at the following additional location(s):

Houston, TX

The Commission on Accrediting (COA) of The Association of Theological Schools accredits more than 250 graduate schools of theology and seminaries in the United States and Canada. The COA has been recognized by the U.S. Department of Education since 1952 as an accreditor of freestanding, single-purpose institutions and of specialized programs at larger institutions offering post-baccalaureate degrees in professional and academic theological education. The COA is also recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation as a national faith-related accrediting organization that accredits free-standing seminaries and academic units of larger institutions in the United States and Canada that offer post-baccalaureate degrees in professional and academic theological education.